Motorsport: Mick Schumacher is the 2020 Formula 2 Champion

Mick Schumacher has won the 2020 Formula 2 title in his second year in the series.
Mick Schumacher is the 2020 Formula 2 Champion , Copyright: Mandoga Media
( | Press Release | 2020-12-06 23:59:52 )
In today’s final race of the season, the 21-year-old Ferrari Driver Academy student failed to score points, finishing 18th, but as his only rival and Academy colleague Callum Ilott also finished outside the points in tenth, the Prema team driver won by the existing margin of 14 points. The race took place on the Outer Track at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Academy success. It was a memorable season for the FDA with three of its students finishing in the top four of the championship. Reigning Formula 3 champion Robert Shwartzman also had a great season, managing to win four races in his debut season, more than any other driver, soon establishing himself as a front runner in the Formula 1 feeder series. The other two FDA drivers, Marcus Armstrong and Giuliano Alesi had a very good start to the season, but it tailed off towards the end. FDA drivers took 9 wins in Formula 2, 24 podiums (an average of one a race), five pole positions and four fastest race laps, with 61 points finishes.

The race. Mick started from third and got alongside Dan Ticktum (DAMS) and Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) ahead of Callum in the UNI-Virtuosi Racing number 4 car. On the first lap, Schumacher locked up his wheels braking for turn 4, but kept going and then overtook Daruvala a few laps later. But the Indian driver fought back and retook the place and Mick wisely did not respond. On lap 19, the German began to struggle with his tyres and Ilott got ahead, as did Prema team-mate Robert Shwartzman and Guan-Yu Zhou (UNI-Virtuosi Racing). The team called Mick in to change tyres and give him a shot at setting the fastest race lap. That’s just what he did, getting a step closer to the title because at that point, Ilott would have had to win the race to take the title. In the closing stages, the Englishman also struggled with his tyres and could only finish tenth. The win went to Daruvala, followed by Ticktum and Japan’s Yuki Tsunoda (Carlin). Shwartzman was fifth, one ahead of Giuliano Alesi (MP Motorsport). Marcus Armstrong (ART Grand Prix) finished outside the points.

For the record. Mick Schumacher who will race in Formula 1 next season with the Haas F1 Team, is the second FDA driver to win the Formula 2 championship after Charles Leclerc in 2017. He is the first German to do so, since the series went by the name of F2 in 2017. Six Germans have won the series in previous guises: when it was Formula 3000, Christian Danner (1985), Jörg Müller (1996) and Nick Heidfeld (1999); as GP2 Nico Rosberg (2005), Timo Glock (2007) and Nico Hülkenberg (2009).

Press Information

Published by

Mandoga Media Evelyn Kilb

0179 4902268
Hauptstrasse 222
79576 Weil am Rhein - Germany

Contact Mandoga Media Evelyn Kilb







Disclaimer: If you have any questions regarding information in this press release please contact the company added in the press release. Please do not contact PR4US. We will not be able to assist you. PR4US disclaims the content included in this release.
Preparing for PR: Five Hot Tips for Startups
PR Fundamentals for Startups - MaRS Best Practices
Public Relations 101
Public Relations Strategy in Our World Today!
Introduction to Public Relations
Trends in Communicating
How to Do Marketing/PR on a Budget - CoInvent Startup Summit 2014 New York
Monika Dixon Shares PR Tips